Slovak moderator is too fat for TV

7 May

As another example of current event that supports my opinion that media provides us inaccurate image of women I would like to mention an article from Czech online tabloid Super Spy.  This article talks about Martina Csillagova (also known as Tina), Slovak singer and moderator of Cesko Slovenska SuperStar (Czechoslovak alternative of British show Pop Idol), who is reputedly too fat for being in television. According to this article Tina has few extra pounds and so that she is not the right person to be seen on TV. What is more, media still compares Tina with previous moderator of first edition of this competition, who was Slovak moderator and model Adela Banasova. Media states that Tina is fat in comparison with tall, ultra thin model Adela. 

 Fortunately, Tina does not take gossips about her body seriously.

“I am glad that I can show normal women that it is completely natural to have figure as I do and I don’t eat wool, I don’t starve and drink only water. I find it perverse that journalists see my figure as something newsworthy. However this is the world of show business“, says Tina.

In my opinion it is crazy that media calls someone fat just because not having body like a model. The most ridiculous thing about this whole issue is that Tina is absolutely normal woman and calling her fat is quite mean. She is very beautiful and attractive women. She has curves and she is sexy. The fact that woman that actually looks like woman, woman with breasts and curves are automatically marked as fat is really alarming. There is no need to compare this moderator with the previous in terms of their appearance and especially weight. They are moderators of talent show and not participants in a beauty contest. Media should rather evaluate their level of performance as moderators and not make judges about them based on their weight.

Tina :    

Adela:

References:

“Šok! Zpěvačka Tina Je Prý Na Obrazovku Moc Tmavá! | SuperSpy.cz.” SuperSpy.cz – Superšpion, Který Nikdy Nespí. 20 Apr. 2011. Web. 07 May 2011. http://www.superspy.cz/celebrity/nestastne-hvezdy/2177-sok-zpevacka-tina-je-pry-na-obrazovku-moc-tmava

Adéla Banášová. Digital image. Google. 10 June 2010. Web. 07 May 2011. http://www.google.cz/imgres?imgurl=http://img.aktualne.centrum.cz/256/29/2562926-party-cesko-slovenske-superstar-adela-banasova.jpg

Tina. Digital image. Google. Web. 07 May 2011. http://www.google.cz/imgres?imgurl=http://img.karaoketexty.cz/img/artists/3796/tina-81429.jpg 

Zpěvačka Tina. Digital image. SuperSpy.cz – Superšpion, Který Nikdy Nespí. 20 Apr. 2011. Web. 7 May 2011. <http://www.superspy.cz/celebrity/nestastne-hvezdy/2177-sok-zpevacka-tina-je-pry-na-obrazovku-moc-tmava&gt;.

2 Responses to “Slovak moderator is too fat for TV”

  1. Nika May 10, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    I totally expected that the media would comment on her body when there was an announcement that Tina is going to be the moderator of Superstar! I had a chance to meet her and talk to her during one event in my home town and she is absolutely normal, beautiful and inteligent woman (and I think that TV adds her on the weight). For me, it was about the time to find someone else then Adela, someone who actually looks healthy, because when I see Adela on TV I am worried that she would fall and break her entire body… And I have to say that there are, fortunately, more positive reactions to this change then negative among the viewers 🙂 Everytime I see some campaign where are other women than thin models I feel better because I am overweight and I know that there are lots of women with the same problem, and those of them who have medical issues and cannot actually be thin, have this better feeling as well. At least they can gain more confidence 🙂

    • bjahodova May 14, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

      I agree with you Nika, I think it’s great that media begins to show also normal women and not only thin models as the ideal of beauty that we should all follow. We all have different preferences and I think it’s bad that media still show only the one type of women. And I believe that sometimes chubby women are much more sexy than skinny models 🙂

Leave a comment